Astronomy in Chile

Contact Name: Prof. Médéric Boquien

Email address:

Chile has a vibrant, dynamic and rapidly-growing scientific community, currently consisting of 274 professional astronomers spread over 24 institutions and covering all active research fields. All LSSTC Catalysts Fellows hosted by a Chilean institution will be eligible to apply for the 10% guaranteed time on all telescopes installed in Chile such as ALMA, VLT, Gemini-S, Magellan, etc. There are currently 60+ astronomers based in Chile who are members of LSST science collaborations, spread over all scientific topics from cosmology to solar system. Particularly relevant for potential postdoctoral fellows is the Alerce project, recently selected as one of the LSST event brokers, led by researchers in Chile.

Postdoctoral fellows hosted by Chilean institutions will be eligible to apply for the 10% guaranteed time on all telescopes installed in Chile. Chile has a very active and lively community of astronomy and data science researchers, including all fields of research associated with LSST. 

Potential LSSTC Fellow candidates interested in having a Chilean institution as host are encourage either to establish contact directly with relevant faculty members or alternatively can email Prof. Médéric Boquien at for guidance in selecting a suitable sponsoring institution and general information about Chilean institutions.


Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (PUC) Felipe Barrientos
Universidad de Antofagasta (UA) Eduardo Unda-Sanzana
Universidad Adolfo Ibañez (UAI) Andrés Jordán
Universidad Autónoma de Chile (UAUTONOMA) Natalia Inostroza
Universidad de Chile (UCH) Patricio Rojo
Universidad Católica del Norte (UCN) Max Moyano
Universidad Católica de la Santísima Concepción (UCSC) Nicola Astudillo
Universidad de Atacama (UDA) Mario Soto
Universidad del Desarrollo (UDD) Mauricio Herrera
Universidad de Concepción (UDEC) Neil Nagar
Universidad Diego Portales (UDP) Manuel Aravena
Universidad de La Serena (ULS) Hector Cuevas
Universidad Metropolitana de Ciencias de la Educación (UMCE) Luis Barrera
Universidad Andrés Bello (UNAB) Giuliano Pignata
Universidad de Valparaíso (UV) Radostin Kurtev
Pontifícia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso (PUCV) Germán Varas
Universidad Austral (UACH) José Mardones
Universidad Bernardo O'Higgins (UBO) Maria José Acuña
Universidad Central (UCEN) Christian Nicolai

Universidad Mayor (UMAYOR) Raúl Coto

Universidad de Santiago de Chile (USACH) Roberto Bernal

Universidad Tecnica Federico Santa Maria (UTFSM) Mónica Pacheco

Universidad de Tarapacá (UTA) David Laroze

Universidad de Talca (UTAL) Gonzalo Pincheira


Expansion Site?: