The Large Synoptic Survey Telescope Corporation

Science Collaborations

In 2008, eleven separate quasi-independent science collaborations were formed to focus on a broad range of topics in astronomy and cosmology that the LSST could address. Members of these collaborations have been instrumental in helping to develop the science case for LSST (encapsulated in the LSST Science Book) to refine the concepts for the survey and for the data processing, and to educate other scientists and the public about the promise of this unique observatory.  The scientific questions that the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST) project will address are profound and it would be impossible to list all the possible projects that LSST data will enable. Read more about LSST science goals.

Science Collaboration Publication Policies
Each LSST Science Collaboration develops its own publication policy, based on a template policy that can be used, revised, or expanded as it fits (Word (link is external), PDF (link is external), Gooogle Doc (link is external)). See the first page of the template for more details.

LSST Science Collaborations
There are currently eight active LSST Science Collaborations.  Additional information about their work and membership can be found at the links below or by contacting the individual chairs, or the LSSTC Science Collaborations Coordinator (LSSTCSCC), Federica Bianco.

Michael Cooper (UC Irvine); Brant Robertson (University of California Santa Cruz);

Stars, Milky Way, and Local Volume 
John Bochanski (Rider University); John Gizis (University of Delaware); Nitya Jacob Kallivayalil (University of Virginia);

Solar System 
Meg Schwamb (Gemini Observatory Northern Operations Center); David Trilling (Northern Arizona University);

Dark Energy 
Eric Gawiser (Rutgers The State University of New Jersey); Phil Marshall (KIPAC);

Active Galactic Nuclei
Niel Brandt (Pennsylvania State University);

Transients/variable stars
Federica Bianco (New York University); Rachel Street (LCO);

Strong Lensing
Charles Keeton (Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey); Anna Nierenberg (University of California Irvine); James Nightingale (Durham University); Paul Schechter (MIT); Aprajita Verma (Oxford University);

Informatics and Statistics
Tom Loredo (Cornell University); Chad Schafer (Carnegie Mellon University);

Wiki pages for Science Collaboration members are found here.



Contact   |   Employment   |   Webmaster

User Login | Logout

Back to Top