The Large Synoptic Survey Telescope Corporation

Science Collaborations

In 2008, eleven separate quasi-independent science collaborations were formed to focus on a broad range of topics in astronomy and cosmology that the LSST could address. Members of these collaborations have been instrumental in helping to develop the science case for LSST (encapsulated in the LSST Science Book) to refine the concepts for the survey and for the data processing, and to educate other scientists and the public about the promise of this unique observatory.  The scientific questions that the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST) project will address are profound and it would be impossible to list all the possible projects that LSST data will enable. Read more about LSST science goals.

Science Collaboration Publication Policies
Each LSST Science Collaboration develops its own publication policy, based on a template policy that can be used, revised, or expanded as it fits (Word (link is external), PDF (link is external), Gooogle Doc (link is external)). See the first page of the template for more details.

LSST Science Collaborations

Overview Posters

There are currently eight active LSST Science Collaborations.  Additional information about their work and membership can be found at the links below or by contacting the individual chairs, or the LSSTC Science Collaborations Coordinator (LSSTCSCC), Federica Bianco.

 Chair(s): Manda Banerji (Institute of Astronomy); Sugata Kaviraj (University of Hertfordshire);

DM Liaison: Robert Lupton

Stars, Milky Way, and Local Volume 
 Chair(s): John Bochanski (Rider University); John Gizis (University of Delaware); Nitya Jacob Kallivayalil (University of Virginia);

DM Liaison: Colin Slater

Solar System 
 Chair(s): Meg Schwamb (Gemini Observatory Northern Operations Center); David Trilling (Northern Arizona University);

DM Liaison: Mario Jurić

Dark Energy 
 Chair(s): Eric Gawiser (Rutgers The State University of New Jersey); Phil Marshall (KIPAC);

DM Liaison: Robert Lupton

Active Galactic Nuclei
 Chair(s): Niel Brandt (Pennsylvania State University);

DM Liaison: Željko Ivezić

Transients/variable stars
 Chair(s): Federica Bianco (New York University); Rachel Street (LCO);

DM Liaison: Melissa Graham, Eric Belm

Strong Lensing
 Chair(s): Charles Keeton (Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey); Aprajita Verma (Oxford University);

DM Liaison: Jim Bosch

Informatics and Statistics
 Chair(s): Tom Loredo (Cornell University); Chad Schafer (Carnegie Mellon University);

DM Liaison: Leanne Guy

LSST National Groups


Chair(s): Bob Mann, George Beckett   
DM Liaison: Leanne Guy & Wil O'Mullane (management)

LSST Chile

Chair(s): Chris Smith
DM Liaison: Leanne Guy & Wil O'Mullane (management)

LSST France

Chair(s): Emmanuel Gangler
DM Liaison: Leanne Guy & Wil O'Mullane (management)



Contact   |   Employment   |   Webmaster

User Login | Logout

Back to Top