Host Institutions in the Hub of LINCC

LSSTC Catalyst Fellows who choose Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), Northwestern University (NU) or the University of Washington (UW), which are part of the Hub of LINCC, as their host institutions will have the opportunity of receiving 4-year Fellowship appointments and collaborating with professional software engineers and data scientists that are part of the LINCC initiative. The extended Fellowship duration will enable the development of ambitious software infrastructure necessary to accomplish novel science with the Rubin LSST. The Catalyst Fellow will join and engage with a unique, collaborative environment designed to foster the development of new ideas for Rubin data analysis tools. LINCC professionals are expressly targeting the development of reliable community software, and will collaborate with Catalyst Fellows at LINCC Hub institutions to ensure that major LSST science can be accomplished promptly. The four LINCC Hub institutions are CMU, NU, University of Arizona (UA) and UW; because UA received a Fellow last year, only CMU, NU, and UW are eligible in 2022 to host Catalyst Fellows.

Applicants applying for the Catalyst Fellowship at LINCC Hub institutions are advised to include a conceptual description of the analysis tools they consider important in their research statement. The technical details of these tools can extend beyond the current expertise of the applicant: LINCC will provide the Fellow with the opportunity to collaborate with professional computer scientists to build the analysis tools envisioned by the applicant. Fellows will also have the opportunity to participate in LINCC-related activities at the Hub institutions, while developing leadership skills in the emerging field of astroinformatics.